Test & Exam Prep

Why wait till after you get your test & exam resultsDid you know that your child´s test and exam scores are taken a lot into consideration for when it comes to getting accepted to a college or university of your choice?

Did you also know that when applying to a private school your child is to take a test that will determine whether or not they get accepted?

This is why our tutoring for standardized tests is completely personalized and tailored according to the student’s specific needs not to mention the school, college or university requirements relative to the test he or she is taking.

Test & Exam Prep

So why risk getting a bad or mediocre score on any test that will play a big role in your student’s life?

Don’t waste any more time call us Today to schedule a free consultation about your student’s Test Prep tutoring with one of our Educational Consultants. 

  • ACT Test (American College Testing)

Is a standardized test for high school achievement and college admissions. It consist of four tests: English, Mathematics, Social Studies, and Natural Sciences. In the spring of 2015, the ACT will start to be offered as a computer-based test that will incorporate some optional Constructed Response Questions; the test content, composite score, and multiple choice format will not be affected by these changes. The test will continue to be offered in the paper format for schools that are not ready to transition to computer testing. The main four tests are scored individually on a scale of 1–36, and a Composite score is provided which is the whole number average of the four scores.

  • SAT Test (Scholastic Assessment Test)

Is a standardized admissions test used to rate applicants to undergraduate programs in colleges and universities. Almost all 4 year school requires an SAT score. Possible scores on the SAT range from 600 to 2400, combining test results from three 800-point sections: Mathematics, Critical Reading, and Writing. The SAT is offered 8 times in a year, takes 3 hours and 45 minutes to finish.

  • GRE Test (Graduate Records Exam)

Computerized, standardized test that is an admissions requirement for many graduate schools in the United States, in other English-speaking countries and for English-taught graduate and business programs world-wide. It consists of a quantitative section, a verbal section and an analytical writing section.

  • LSAT Test (Law School Admission Test)

A half-day standardized test administered four times each year at designated testing centers throughout the world. Administered by the Law School Admission Council (LSAC) for prospective law school candidates, the LSAT is designed to assess reading comprehension, logical, and verbal reasoning proficiencies.

  • GMAT (Graduate Management Admissions Test)

Standardized, computer-based assessment. Business schools use the test as one of their criteria for admission into a wide range of graduate management programs, including MBA, Master of Accountancy, and Master of Finance programs.

  • SSAT Test (Secondary School Admission Test)

Is an admission test administered by the Secondary School Admission Test Board (SSATB) to students in grades 3-11 to help professionals in independent or private elementary, middle and high schools to make decisions regarding student admission. There are three levels of the test: the Elementary Level for students in grades 3 and 4 who are applying to grades 4 and 5, the Middle Level for students in grades 5-7 applying for grades 6-8, and the Upper Level, designed for students in grades 8-11 who are applying for grades 9-12 (or PG). The SSAT consists of a brief unscored writing sample and multiple choice sections that include Quantitative (Mathematics), Reading Comprehension, and Verbal questions. The test, written in English, is administered around the world at hundreds of test centers, many of which are independent schools.

  • ACT Aspire Test

Is a computer-based, longitudinal assessment system that connects growth and progress from elementary grades through high school in the context of college and career readiness.ACT Aspire is given to students in grades 3rd through 8th. Content areas are English, math, reading, and science with direct writing at all grades. ACT Aspire has replaced ACT Explore and ACT Plan programs. But we will still continue to tutor for all Pre ACT Tests.

  • GED (General Equivalency Diploma)

Is a second chance to put your education first. It measures proficiency in science, mathematics, social studies, reading, and writing. Passing the GED test gives those who did not complete high school the opportunity to earn their high school equivalency credential. The test takes a little more than seven hours to complete.

  • ASVAB (Armed Services Vocational Aptitude Battery)

The ASVAB is a multiple-aptitude battery that measures developed abilities and helps predict future academic and occupational success in the military. It is administered annually to more than one million military applicants, high school, and post-secondary students.

  • FSA Exam (Florida Standards Assessment)

The Florida Standards Assessment is the new test provided to all school level children in the State of Florida beginning on the 2014-2015 school year. It replaces the FCAT. This new FSA exam will be provided to all 3rd through 11th graders in Florida. It is a computer based assessment test with emphasis in Math and ELA. Tutor Doctor tutors have been preparing for the new test and ready to provide the necessary support to all students on the common core skills the new test requires.

The Florida Standards in Mathematics and English Language Arts (ELA) were approved by the Florida State Board of Education in February 2014 and will be fully implemented in grades K–12 in the 2014–2015 school year. All Florida schools will teach the Florida Standards, and the Florida Department of Education (FDOE) has contracted with the American Institutes for Research (AIR) to develop and administer new statewide assessments. These FSA assessments will provide parents, teachers, policy makers and the general public with information regarding how well students are learning the Florida standards.

The following Florida Standards Assessments (FSA) will be administered for the first time in Spring 2015:

  • Grades 3–11 English Language Arts (Writing component in grades 4–11)
  • Grades 3–8 Mathematics
  • Algebra 1 End-of-Course Assessment
  • Geometry End-of-Course Assessment
  • Algebra 2 End-of-Course Assessment
  • PSAT (Preliminary SAT)

Students register for the exam through their high schools that are members of the College Board. The PSAT is also known as NMSQT or National Merit Scholarship Qualification Test. The test is composed of three sections: Math, Critical Reading, and Writing Skills, and takes two hours and ten minutes to complete. Each of the three sections is scored on a scale of 20 to 80 points, which add up to a maximum composite score of 240 points. This parallels the SAT, which is graded on a scale of 200 to 800 (the narrower range is to distinguish from which test a score comes and to denote less accuracy). However, unlike the new (2005) SAT, the new PSAT does not include higher-level mathematics (e.g., concepts from Algebra II) or an essay in its writing section (which was added to the SAT in 2005).The test is mostly multiple-choice, but there are 10 open-response math questions that require takers to enter their responses on a grid. Students are allowed to use calculators on the math sections.

The PSAT/NMSQT is not only a preview for the SAT but also used to determine very important national merit scholarships. Tutor Doctor has assisted many students in preparing for this test..